Latest News

Ukraine Started To Perform Functions Of Non-permanent UN Security Council Member

01.01 15:14

UNIAN reported this.

Ukrainian diplomats thanked to all the states for their support of Ukrainian candidate.

“We are ready to work closely together for global peace and security”, – said the statement.

Volodymyr Yelchenko, who replace Yurii Serheiev, will represent Ukraine to the UN.

As known, the Security Council consists of 15 members: five permanent, veto eligible, and 10 non-permanent.

Permanent members are France, UK, USA, China and Russia, while Ukraine, Angola, Egypt, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Senegal, Spain, Uruguay and Venezuela are non-permanent ones.

It should be recalled that Ukraine was elected a non-permanent member of the UN Security Council for 2016-2017 years on October 15, 2015.

Everything by topic:

Related News